Hell or high tea

“I’ll get that tender in on time, come hell or high tea”

“I’ll get that tender in on time, come hell or high tea”

Origin: come hell or high water + high tea

One response to “Hell or high tea

  1. This ones above me!… I will admit I wasn’t sure what high tea was. So for those of you who also need this explaining, I turned to wikipedia for abit of guidance.

    “High tea (also known as meat tea) is an early evening meal, typically eaten between 5pm and 6pm in the evening. It would be eaten as a substitute for both afternoon tea and the evening meal. The term comes from the meal being eaten at the “high” (main) table, instead of the smaller lounge table. It is now largely replaced by a later evening meal.

    It would usually consist of cold meats, eggs and/or fish, cakes and sandwiches. In a family, it tends to be less formal and is an informal snack (featuring sandwiches, biscuits, pastry, fruit and the like) or else it is the main evening meal.”

Leave a comment